Peter und Irene Ludwig StiftungLogo: Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung

Anniversary: Twenty-five Years of the Peter and Irene Ludwig Foundation

Twenty-five years ago, in 1997, Irene Ludwig set an important precedent in philanthropic support for art and culture in the public sphere by establishing the Peter and Irene Ludwig Foundation.

The foundation would continue to pursue the vision that Irene Ludwig shared with her late husband: to acquire first-rate works of fine and applied art for the public in collaboration with international museums, with a cosmopolitan, global perspective across all eras, genres, and borders, and to support exhibitions of and research on these works.

Today the Peter and Irene Ludwig Foundation works with over twenty-five public institutions across three continents and has supported a large number of multifaceted projects and initiatives.

The team at the Ludwig Foundation would like to take the twenty-fifth anniversary as an opportunity to offer insight into our activities over the course of the year and to present the faces behind the foundation on our new “About Us” page. In addition, this summer the artist Andreas Schmitten will present a project that focuses on Haus Ludwig, which was previously the Ludwigs’ residence and now serves as the foundation’s headquarters.

Peter and Irene Ludwig

The two German art collectors have changed the world. They began building their collec­tion, comprising more than 14,000 objects, in the 1950s. Today, the collection is spread across 26 public museums in three continents. Twelve institutions bear the name Ludwig and have bene­fited from generous donations. Their perspective on art as a unique principle of human expression that over­comes national borders and is open to the world, moti­vated the founders and continues to define the activity of the Peter and Irene Ludwig Foun­dation.

Collection

Contemporary art, Pop art, Picasso, Russian avant-garde, Soviet art, ancient Chinese and pre-Columbian art, classical antiquity, sculpture from the Middle Ages and the Early Modern period, Baroque and Rococo faïence.

History

Irene Monheim and Peter Ludwig get to know one another at the end of the 1940s while studying art history at Mainz University. Peter Ludwig completes his PhD there in 1950 with a thesis on Picasso’s image of man.

Research

The Peter and Irene Ludwig Foundation is continuously researching, organizing, and expanding the Ludwig Collection. With the “Ludwig Project”, since 2015 an interview campaign is gathering the views and impressions of contemporaries.

International

“World art” is a guiding principle. The Ludwigs broadened their perspective early on to include non-European regions and pursue the idea of a global art.

Transcultural

Elucidating the qualities and meanings art possesses across history, cultures and countries, highlighting its universal value, inspires our intellectual approach.

Networked

28 public institutions are linked to us globally. Outside of Germany, we are active in Cuba, China, Russia, Hungary, Austria, and Switzerland.


CREDITS - Above: Jean-Olivier Hucleux, Peter and Irene Ludwig, 1975-76 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016. Left: Andy Warhol and Peter Ludwig, Cologne 1980 © Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung. Right: Research- and exhibition project, Plattform Aachen, Ludwig Forum 2014 © Carl Brunn. Center: Exhibition view „Eastwards“, Ludwig Forum 2014 / 2015, Photo: Carl Brunn

Peter und Irene Ludwig StiftungLogo: Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung

Jubiläum: 25 Jahre Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung

Vor 25 Jahren – 1997 – stellte Irene Ludwig eine wichtige Weiche für die weltweite private Förderung von Kunst und Kultur in der Öffentlichkeit: Sie gründete die Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung.

Die Stiftung sollte die Vision weiterentwickeln, die Irene Ludwig mit ihrem verstorbenen Mann teilte: Kunst und Kunsthandwerk auf höchstem Niveau in Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Museen für die Öffentlichkeit sammeln – und das weltoffen und weltweit, über alle Epochen, Gattungen und Grenzen hinweg – sowie deren Ausstellung und wissenschaftliche Erforschung fördern.

Heute arbeitet die Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung mit über 25 öffentlichen Institutionen auf drei Kontinenten zusammen und blickt auf eine große Anzahl von vielschichtigen Förderungen und Initiativen zurück.

Das Team der Ludwig Stiftung möchte das 25. Jubiläum zum Anlass nehmen, im Laufe des Jahres kleine Einblicke in unsere Stiftungsaktivitäten zu gewähren und zunächst unter dem neuen Navigationspunkt „Über uns“ die Gesichter hinter der Stiftung vorstellen. Zudem wird sich im Sommer diesen Jahres Andreas Schmitten im Rahmen eines Künstlerprojektes mit dem Haus Ludwig, dem heutigen Stiftungssitz und früheren Wohnhaus der Ludwigs, befassen.

Peter und Irene Ludwig

Die beiden deutschen Kunst­sammler haben die Welt verändert. Ihre mehr als 14.000 Objekte umfassende Sammlung wurde seit den 1950er Jahren aufgebaut. Sie ist heute auf 26 öffent­liche Museen in drei Kontinen­ten verteilt. Zwölf Institu­tionen tragen den Namen Ludwig und wurden mit groß­zügigen Schenkungen bedacht. Die Per­spektive auf Kunst als einzig­artiges menschliches Ausdrucks­­­­­prinzip, das Nationen­grenzen überwindet und weltoffen operiert, motivierte die Stifter und bestimmt die Tätigkeit der Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung bis heute.

Sammlung

Zeitgenössische Kunst, Pop Art, Picasso, russische Avant­garde, Kunst der Sowjet­union, alt­chinesische und prä­kolumbische Kunst, Antiken, Skulpturen des Mittel­alters und der frühen Neuzeit, Barock- und Rokoko-­Fayencen.

Historie

Irene Monheim und Peter Ludwig lernen sich Ende der 1940er Jahre beim Studium der Kunst­geschichte an der Universität Mainz kennen. Peter Ludwig wurde dort 1950 über „Das Menschen­bild Picassos“ promoviert.

Forschung

Die Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung erforscht, organisiert und erweitert die Sammlung Ludwig kontinu­ierlich. Mit dem Projekt „Voices“ läuft seit 2015 eine Interview­kampagne, um Zeitzeu­gen zu befragten.

International

Der Begriff der „Weltkunst“ ist eine Leitlinie. Früh weiteten die Ludwigs ihren Blick auf außer­europäische Länder und ver­folgen die Idee einer globalen Kunst.

Transkulturell

Qualitäten und Bedeutungen der Kunst zeiten-, kultur- und länder­übergreifend zu verdeut­lichen und als welt­umspan­nenden Wert zu vermit­teln, ist zentraler Denk­ansatz.

Vernetzt

Weltweit sind 28 öffentliche Institu­tionen mit uns ver­bunden. Außerhalb Deutsch­lands sind wir in Kuba, China, Russ­land, Ungarn, Österreich und der Schweiz aktiv.

 

BILDER. Oben: Jean-Olivier Hucleux, Peter und Irene Ludwig, 1975-76 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016. Links: Andy Warhol und Peter Ludwig, Köln 1980, Foto: Unbekannt. Rechts: Forschungs- und Ausstellungs­projekt, Plattform Aachen, Ludwig Forum 2014, Foto: Carl Brunn. Mitte: Ausstellungsansicht „Ostwärts“, Ludwig Forum 2014/2015, Foto: Carl Brunn

zur Startseite

Peter und Irene Ludwig StiftungLogo: Peter und Irene Ludwig Stiftung

Pontus Hultén, Peter Ludwig und/and
Irene Ludwig, Centre Pompidou, Paris 1977.